Ondo: Akeredolu sworn in for second term, promises to crush insecurity

Rotimi Akeredolu was, on Wednesday, sworn in for a second four-year term as Governor of Ondo State.

Akeredolu was sworn-in alongside his deputy, Lucky Ayedatiwa, after the oath of office was administered on them by the chief judge, Justice Olarewaju Akeredolu.

Akeredolu, at the inauguration, promised to consolidate on his first-term achievements. He said his second term will not be a time for relaxation.

While emphasizing that he is ready to proceed on the journey of the next four years with renewed vigour, the governor disclosed that his first term was hit with a paucity of funds but was still able to ensure projects were executed across the 18 local government areas of the state.

On the issue of security, Akeredolu vowed the continued readiness of his administration to protect lives and property in the state as he stressed that he will not pay lip service to issues of security.

He also appealed to the federal government to allow states to control their spaces.

“The primary responsibility of any government is the security of lives and property of its citizens,” Akeredolu said.

“Our administration is determined to make our State safe for the residents and visitors alike.

“We have been relentless in advocating for the establishment of state police. There can be no other way if we are indeed serious about securing lives and property.

“It is this incongruity that propelled the South-West governors to form a regional security network code-named Amotekun.

“The ultimate is to convince others to understand that the devolution of authority is inexorable. Every state must be allowed to secure its space.

“Amotekun has done very well in their short time of existence,” Akeredolu said.

The inauguration was held at the International Culture and Event Center, The Dome, Akure.

It was attended by All Progressives Congress (APC) chieftain and former Lagos governor Bola Ahmed Tinubu; the Chairman of Nigeria Governors’ Forum and Ekiti governor Kayode Fayemi; Lagos governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu; Osun governor Gboyega Oyetola; Ogun governor Dapo Abiodun; Edo governor Godwin Obaseki; and other dignitaries.

Daily Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Back to top button