Buhari reopens 4 land borders

President Muhammadu Buhari has ordered the immediate reopening of four land borders.

“President Buhari has directed the immediate opening of four land borders: Seme, Illela, Maigatari, and Mfun,” The presidency (@NGRPresident) tweeted on Wednesday.

President Buhari shut land borders last August to, according to the government, check illegal importation of drugs, small arms and agricultural products into country from neighbouring West African nations.

The border closure, however, worked hand-in-hand with coronavirus lockdowns and other factors to inflict damage on the Nigerian economy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button