Buhari names Buratai, other sacked service chiefs, as ambassadors

President Muhammadu Buhari has forwarded the names of the immediate past service chiefs to the Senate as non-career ambassadors-designate, presidency spokesperson Garba Shehu said in a statement on Thursday.

Buhari addressed the letter to Senator Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan.

The letter reads:

“In accordance with section 171 (1), (2) (c) & sub-section (4) of 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended, I have the honour to forward for confirmation by the Senate, the under-listed five (5) names of nominees as Non-Career Ambassadors-Designate.”

The nominees are: Gen Abayomi G. Olonisakin (Rtd ), Lt Gen Tukur Y. Buratai (Rtd), Vice Admiral Ibok-Ete Ibas (Rtd), Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar (Rtd), and Air Vice Marshal Mohammed S. Usman (Rtd).

Buhari “urged the Senate to give expeditious consideration to the nominations,” Shehu said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Back to top button